Welcome to the Silicon Valley Index website!

Profile of Silicon Valley

map and 4 charts

The geographical boundaries of Silicon Valley vary. Earlier, the regions’s core was identified as Santa Clara County plus adjacent parts of San Mateo, Alameda and Santa Cruz counties. However, since 2009, the Silicon Valley Index has included all of San Mateo County in order to reflect the geographic expansion of the region’s driving industries and employment. Because San Francisco has emerged in recent years as a vibrant contributor to the tech economy, we have included some San Francisco data in various charts throughout the Index.

Silicon Valley is defined as the following cities

Santa Clara County (all)

Campbell • Cupertino • Gilroy • Los Altos • Los Altos Hills • Los Gatos • Milpitas • Monte Sereno • Morgan Hill • Mountain View • Palo Alto • San Jose • Santa Clara • Saratoga • Sunnyvale

San Mateo County (all)

Atherton • Belmont • Brisbane • Burlingame • Colma • Daly City • East Palo Alto • Foster City • Half Moon Bay • Hillsborough • Menlo Park • Millbrae • Pacifica • Portola Valley • Redwood City • San Bruno • San Carlos • San Mateo • South San Francisco • Woodside

Alameda County

Fremont • Newark • Union City

Santa Cruz County

Scotts Valley

infographic of Silicon Valley land area

Data Sources: Land Area (U.S. Census Bureau, 2010); Population (California Department of Finance, 2013); GDP (Moody’s Economy.com, 2013); Venture Capital (PricewaterhouseCoopers/National Venture Capital Association MoneyTreeTM Report, Data: Thomson Reuters, Q1-3 3013); Cleantech Venture Capital (Cleantech Group™, Inc., Q1-3 3013); Patent Registrations (U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, 2012); Initial Public Offerings (Renaissance Capital, 2013); Jobs (State of California Employment Development Department Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages, and EMSI, Q2 2013); Angel Investment (CB Insights, Q1-3 3013); Mergers & Acquisitions (Factset Mergerstat, Q1-3 3013). | *Silicon Valley Percentage of California GDP includes San Mateo and Santa Clara counties only.